Introductions

First, introductions. My name is Alyssa. I am a 20 something born and raised in the freaking awesome city of San Diego. I have a kickass partner. His name is Tristan. We have two baby rats (Fluffer and Curly) who roam free in our 500 sq. ft. apartment. Remember the rats. They are somewhat important.

Tristan has had a profound influence on my life. In our time together, he has been my shaman on my journey to figure out exactly what I was doing with myself. We have come to embrace three little things that made a huge difference in our lives: live simply, spend your time doing meaningful things, and remember no one has lived your life before.

Living simply is where the rats come into play. Last month, when we brought home our baby rats, we wanted them to be able to roam free in our apartment. Now take 30 seconds and try to think like a rat. Did you do it? Did you realize that having a lot of stuff is not good with little troublesome rat hands fishing around? We didn’t want our little babies getting stuck or trapped or hiding under/behind things so we simplified. Less furniture, less clothing, less stuff for little ratties to mess up. Creating space for my baby rats drove me to embrace minimalism.

4 thoughts on “Introductions

  1. I love hearing why people chose minimalism. Every true minimalist has their own unique, creative, and often inspirational reason for the change – yours fits the bill beautifully. I’m excited to follow your progress!

  2. Pingback: Minimalist Monday: Minimalist Rats | Minimalist Bride

Leave a Reply

