Minimalist Monday: JotL and My Storage Closet

IMG_0565

So yesterday marked the beginning of round two of the Jump off the Ladder Challenge. For round one, I gave up eating at restaurants for 20 days and had some amazing benefits. This time I’m tackling our balcony storage closet. This is where the things that I haven’t purged from my storage unit ended up, sitting, collecting dust for months. There are 10 boxes, stacked 5-6 ft. high containing the following:

  • College lecture notes
  • Paintings
  • Camping gear
  • Gardening supplies
  • Craft supplies
  • Christmas decorations
  • Graduation caps, gowns, cords, and various other memorabilia related to school
  • Odds and ends

My goal is to reduce the clutter by 50% or more. Most of the stuff in this closet hasn’t been touched since January, and since it has been in neatly stacked boxes I’ve never bothered to go through them. But I’m tired of clutter and our apartment management is looking to eventually put a washer/dryer unit in that closet, so this stuff has got to go. I plan to eliminate and consolidate so when that day comes whatever is left can find a home inside the apartment without any trouble.

 

5 thoughts on “Minimalist Monday: JotL and My Storage Closet

  1. Good luck with the clear-out! I had several banker’s boxes filled with school memorabilia, from kindergarten through university. I put off going through them forever because…well, because they were in boxes and therefore pretty tidy! But I finally tackled the job and reduced my entire education to one box! Very satisfying!

  2. Pingback: Minimalist Monday: May JotL Wrap Up | Minimalist Bride

Leave a Reply

