The Proposal

IMG_0576[1]

So I’m taking a break from Minimalist Monday this week in favor of a rather exciting development. Tristan and I are now OFFICIALLY engaged (following like, 11 months of “we’re totally getting married but we’re not quite engaged”) and since people can’t help but love a good proposal story, here’s mine.

We took a lazy morning, I made breakfast for us, then we headed over to a winery for a glass of wine and a walk around the cute little winery village. After, we picked up some shrimp cocktail, cheese, and crackers and headed over to a park for a romantic picnic. We rode the antique steam engine around the park then found a secluded spot to enjoy our picnic. We spent 10 minutes trying to open the shrimp cocktail packaging, only to discover they were completely frozen. Fail. We snacked on our cheese and crackers and laid out on the picnic blanket listening to the band that was playing in the park. Tristan started talking to me about how I was his best friend and inquiring if I felt the same way. Of course I did! Then, as the music swelled to a fanfare he whispered, “I have one more question, will you be my wife?”

It was sweet, peaceful, and understated.

The thing that surprised me the most was how not different I feel. We are exactly the same people, although now Tristan insists that I refer to him as Beyoncé since he feels fiancé is way too fancy for us (too true). Actually the biggest difference is now that it’s official I have no desire to wedding plan. I just want to float around in the contentment of being engaged.

9 thoughts on “The Proposal

  1. Beautiful 🙂 I love your last two sentences, I have no idea why some women feel the need to plan the wedding as soon as the rock hits their finger! I have already told my partner and family that when we get engaged no one is allowed to mention ‘wedding’ to me for at least 6 months. Beautiful proposal, congratulations 🙂

    • Thank you! I wonder if some of the women dive right into wedding planning are more interested in having a wedding than getting married? I like your 6 month idea. For me, I’m happy and I’m going into an intensive masters program in less than two months so party planning is totally not a priority right now. Fortunately my Beyonce agrees (that makes me laugh every time haha).

  2. Congratulations! It sounds like you had a perfect day and proposal. And your ring is beautiful! You’re right, you should take time to enjoy being engaged. It’s such a fun and exciting time in life! Wedding planning can wait. 🙂

  3. Congrats! Jack and I were wedding planning for several months before he officially asked me, and I remember what a wonderful kind of closure the ring brought to the plans. I’m so happy for you both, and I can’t wait to see pictures of your beautiful day!

    • It’s really comforting for me since I feel like I’m making myself really vulnerable for the next 13 months by choosing to be unemployed for the first time in my adult life and putting complete faith in my partner.

  4. Congratulations! So happy for you! My husband and I were engaged 2 weeks. We knew each other exactly one month before getting married; met on Oct. 1 and married on Nov. 1 of the same year! We did no wedding planning (no time for that) and had a true minimalist wedding. I’ll have to post about it sometime. But anyway, it all worked out. After 37 years (almost) we’re still happily married! Let us know when!

  5. Congrats. One question, why ever would fiancé be too fancy? It is the correct term for a man getting married and simply means “groom to be”.

Leave a Reply

