Thoughts on TINY

Browsing through Netflix, I stumbled upon TINY, a documentary about the tiny house movement. The messages of course resonated with me, but as I have just spent the past year in graduate school looking at theĀ gap between middle class whites and working class minorities something struck me: every single person in this documentary was a middle class white person. It made me think about the tiny house and minimalist movements in general. Almost every blog is dominated by white individuals that oftentimes grew up in the middle class. There are many discussions of leaving corporate jobs to live simpler. I think that is all great but it seems like we are missing an entire perspective. I’m curious to hear the perspectives of minimalists with a different background. Please share your story in the comments, I would love to hear your voice!

